Singh Receives Warren M. Rohsenow Award

Prashant SinghDr. Prashant Singh, Research Scholar in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, received the Warren M. Rohsenow Award for the best presentation at the 2018 International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition (IMECE) in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The award is given to the best presentation at a technical session on heat transfer in gas turbine systems, and is awarded by the ASME K-14 committee of gas turbine heat transfer.

Dr. Singh manages the “Thermal Energy Research and Management Laboratory (ThERML),” and teaches undergraduate and graduate level courses. His research interests include gas turbine and electronics thermal management, and heat transfer measurement technique development. His research thus far has resulted in over 40 peer-reviewed journals and conference publications, and he has received several awards from ASME. Prior to the joining NC State University, he received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Virginia Tech in 2017.

Scoop ComparisonThe paper titled, Numerical Investigation of Scoop Effect on Film Cooling for Cylindrical Inclined Hole, demonstrates a novel film cooling technique which can be manufactured using advanced manufacturing techniques and its applications are found in gas turbine film cooling. Co-authors of the paper are Dr. Srinath Ekkad (MAE Department Head of and RJ Reynolds Professor), Yongbin Ji (graduate student at Shanghai Jiao Tong University), and Dr. Shusheng Zang (faculty member at Shanghai Tong University).

The prize is awarded annually, in which the awardee receives a wall plaque and a stipend of $100. The co-authors of the technical paper receive recognition certificates.