Loading Events
All Events
  • This event has passed.

Seminar – Scalable Manufactured Micro/Nano-Structured Surfaces for Heat Transfer Applications – Dr. Ronggui Yang

May 25, 2017 @ 11:30 am

Event Navigation

Ronggui Yang

Professor, ASME Fellow

Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Colorado at Boulder

ronggui.yang@colorado.edu, http://spot.colorado.edu/~vangr


Thermal transport plays an important role in energy conversion efficiency and device reliability. There were significant progresses over the past two decades on utilizing micro/nanostructures for enhancing or reducing heat transfer owing much to the challenging needs in energy conversion, storage and thermal management systems. Yet, cost-effectiveness plays a key role in engineering micro/nanostructures for heat transfer applications. In this talk, I will highlight two examples that we currently work on by utilizing scalable manufactured micro/nanostructured surfaces for enhancing heat transfer processes: phase-change heat transfer and radiative heat transfer. These surfaces are expected to play an important role in future thermal and energy systems. 


Dr. Ronggui Yang is the S.P. Chip and Lori Johnson Faculty Fellow and a Professor of Mechanical Engineering directing the Nano-enabled Energy Conversion, Storage, and Thermal Management Systems group (NEXT) at the University of Colorado Boulder (CU-Boulder). Dr. Yang received his Ph.D degree focusing on Nanoscale Heat Transfer with Professor Gang Chen in Mechanical Engineering from MIT in February 2006. He started his faculty career as an Assistant Professor in January 2016, was promoted to Associate Professor with Tenure in 2011 (two years ahead of normal clock at CU-Boulder) and to Full Professor in 2016. His innovative research has won him numerous awards including the 2014 ITS Young Investigator in Thermoelectrics from International Thermoelectric Society, the 2010 ASME Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator Award in Heat Transfer, an NSF CAREER Award in 2009, the MIT Technology Review’s TR35 Award and the DARPA Young Faculty Award in 2008. He has also won the Provost’s Achievement Award (2012), the Dean’s Performance Award (2010), the Woodward Outstanding Faculty of Mechanical Engineering (2011) and the Outstanding Research Award in Mechanical Engineering (2008) from the University of Colorado Boulder. Dr. Yang is also well recognized for his professional services. Dr. Yang is currently the Chair (2015-2017) of the K-9 Technical Committee on Nanoscale Thermal Transport of ASME Heat Transfer Division. He is also an Associate Editor for ASME Journal of Heat Transfer and and Associate Editor for Heat Transfer Research.  


May 25, 2017
11:30 am
Event Categories:


EB3 2201