AIAA Honors MAE Alums

With more than 30,000 individual members from 88 countries and 95 corporate members, the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. AIAA recognizes and celebrates innovative leaders including Katya Casper, Marc Kniskern, and James Keenan.

Former MAE graduate, Katya Casper has been selected as the winner of the AIAA Lawrence Sperry Award. Casper received her Bachelor of Science in Aerospace Engineering from NC State in 2007. She is currently a Principal Member of Technical Staff at Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, NM.

Marc Kniskern and James Keenan were also elected Fellows of AIAA. Kniskern earned his BS in Aerospace Engineering from NSCU in 1988 and continued his education to earn his Masters in AE in 1990. Currently, he is a Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff at Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, NM. Keenan earned his Ph.D. in AE from NC State in 1994. He is a Senior Aerospace Engineer for the US Army Aviation & Missile Research, Development, and Engineering Center.

Awardees will be recognized on Wednesday, May 15, 2019, during AIAA’s Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala, honoring achievements in aerospace at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington D.C.