O’Connor named 2018-19 Faculty Scholar

Dr. O'ConnorProfessor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Dr. Brendan O’Connor, has been named a University Faculty Scholar for the 2018-19 academic year.

Faculty across the university receive this designation due to their significant academic achievements and contributions to NC State through their teaching, research and community engagement.

Nearly 150 faculty have been named University Faculty Scholars since the program’s founding in 2012. Faculty members selected as University Faculty Scholars carry the title for the duration of their faculty appointment at NC State and receive an increase to their base salary.

Colleges may submit nominations for assistant professors appointed for a second term, associate professors and professors within the first three years of their appointment. Senior faculty then review nominations, evaluating them on research and scholarship productivity, excellence in teaching and mentoring, and leadership in extension, professional societies and public service initiatives.

See the full list of 2018-19 Faculty Scholars