MAE students bring home several awards, including 2022 Senior Award

During the Spring 2022 College of Engineering Awards Ceremony on Tuesday night, several MAE students brought home a host of prestigious awards, including the 2022 College of Engineering Senior Award for Humanities.

Senior awards are one of the highest forms of recognition for a senior in the College of Engineering at NC State. There are four categories for which a student can be nominated: Citizenship and Service, Leadership, Scholarly Achievement, and Humanities. Each department within the College of Engineering nominates one student for each category every year.

This year, Jack Martinez was the MAE student nominated for the Humanities award and brought home the college-wide award at Tuesday’s award ceremony. MAE also nominated Solteria Ross in the category of Citizenship and Service, Lindsey Jacobson in the category of Leadership, and Andrew Mistele in the category of Scholarly Achievement. 

Jack is a Mechanical Engineering and Spanish double-major from Raleigh, North Carolina. He participated in undergraduate research with the ARoS Lab and Independent Research on Queer Lexicon in North Carolina Spanish with Dr. Rebecca Ronquest.

He is involved on campus as President of the Spanish Club, a Caldwell Fellow, a Cycling Team member, and a potter at the NC State Crafts Center. He has also volunteered with website development for the Center for Human-Earth Restoration, Shack-a-thon, and the Critical Conversations Project.

He previously worked as a research and development intern for the ABB Multiphysics Research and Development Lab at NC State, researching heavy lift drone power systems and electric conveyor belt motor applications. He is interested in product and systems design and development, social design, and has committed to a Master’s Degree program in Industrial Design.

In the other senior award categories, Daniel Haller from the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering won the award for Scholarly Achievement, Ryan Catalfu from the Department of Computer Science won for Citizenship and Service, and Emory Paige from the Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering won for Leadership.

The Women and Minority Engineering Programs (WMEP), The Engineering Place, and the Benjamin Franklin Scholars Program also gave out several awards during the Ceremony, and two other MAE students were recognized for their outstanding service and academic excellence. 

Carrie Horrell was awarded the Robert Hoffman Award from the Benjamin Franklin Scholars Program, and Tommy Ray was awarded the Exemplary Service Award from The Engineering Place. 

Congratulations to all of those who were recognized during Tuesday’s ceremony, thank you so much for representing MAE across the College of Engineering and beyond.